# **Obion County Board of Education**

# **Special Called Board Meeting**

### June 12, 2018

The Obion County Board of Education met in a special called session on June 12, 2018, at Obion County Central High School. Board Chairman, Fritz Fussell called the meeting to order at 7:03 p.m. and Ms. Keisha Hooper led everyone in prayer. Mr. Hollowell called the roll. Mr. Fritz Fussell, Mr. Brian Rainey, Ms. Keisha Hooper, Mr. Barry Adams, Mr. Kyle Baggett, Mr. Tim Britt, and Mr. Jared Poore were present. Seven members were present. There was a quorum.

#### **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

Upon the recommendation of Chairman Fussell, a motion was made by Mr. Rainey to approve the agenda. Ms. Hooper seconded the motion. **MOTION CARRIED.** 

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

Second Interview – Dr. Leah Watkins – The Board conducted a second interview with Dr. Leah Watkins via Skype. Each Board member was given the opportunity to ask questions which he/she felt were important in making a final decision prior to the potential hiring of Dr. Watkins.

Discussion/Potential Naming of Director of Schools — Chairman Fussell stated that references for Dr. Leah Watkins had been checked as well as conversations with others who knew her. No negative responses were received from her references or the people who knew her well. A motion was made by Mr. Rainey to hire Dr. Watkins as the new Director of Schools for the Obion County System. Ms. Hooper seconded the motion. On a roll call vote, Chairman Fussell, Mr. Rainey, Ms. Hooper, Mr. Adams, Mr. Baggett, Mr. Britt, and Mr. Poore voted "yes". WITH A UNANIMOUS VOTE, MOTION CARRIED.

A second motion was made by Mr. Rainey to enter into contract negotiations with Dr. Watkins. Mr. Britt seconded the motion. **MOTION CARRIED.** 

# ANNOUNCEMENTS/ADJOURN

Chairman Fussell expressed his thanks to applicants Mr. Greg Barclay, Ms. Kim Jackson, and Mr. Barry Kendall for applying for the position. Additionally, he thanked professional and support staff for their help during the meetings prior to the hiring of Dr. Watkins.

Ms. Hooper thanked everyone for his or her input and support.

Mr. Britt expressed his appreciation to Mr. Dale Hollowell and Ms. Nancy Hamilton for agreeing to serve as Interim Directors until the new Director is in place.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:56 p.m.

The entire meeting was recorded and stored as an electronic copy.

The minutes were taken and typed by Diane Terry.

Fritz Fussell, Chairman	Dale Hollowell/Nancy Hamilton Co-Interim Directors of Schools